Onno van Schayck, Professor of Preventative Medicine at CAPHRI  has given a lecture on the effects of air pollution on our health: in the Netherlands our exposure is equivalent to two packs of... more
5 April 201816.00 hrs.

PhD ceremony Maartje van der AaSupervisor:prof. dr. J.A.M. Maarse, prof. dr. mr. S.M.A.A. Evers, Prof. mr. S. KLosse Co-supervisors: Dr. A.T.G. PaulusTitle:Financial risks of... more
Congratulations to Robert Willemsen who defended his PhD thesis on assessing chest pain in primary care on 23 March 2018 and was awarded the distinction cum laude. He has studied the diagnostic... more
The Lancet publishes three papers on low back pain, by an international group of authors led by Prof Rachelle Buchbinder, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia, which address the issues around the... more
On 16 March, prof. dr. Angelique de Rijk will have her inaugural lecture (in Dutch) titled “Arbeidsre-integratie blijft mensenwerk” at 4.30 p.m. at Minderbroedersberg 4-6. Angelique de Rijk holds a... more
9 March 201814.00 hrs.

PhD ceremony Johannes NielenSupervisor: Prof.dr. A. Boonen, Prof.dr.ir. P.C. DagnelieCo-supervisors: Dr. F. de Vries, Dr. B. van den BemtTitle: Osteoarthritis: association... more
We cordially invite you to the Annual CAPHRI Research Day which will be held on Thursday 9 November 2017 at Château St. Gerlach (Joseph Corneli Allee 1, Valkenburg aan de Geul). Theme of the day will... more
5 October 201716.00 hrs.

PhD ceremony Ellen OostingSupervisor: Prof. N.L.U van MeeterenCo-supervisors: Dr. J.J. Dronkers, Utrecht, Dr. T.J. Hoogeboom, RUNTitle: Optimization of physical functioning... more

4 July 201714.00 hrs.

PhD ceremony Antje van der Zee-NeuenSupervisors: Prof. A.E.R.C.H. Boonen, Prof. J.M.J.P. van der Linden, Prof. R.A. de BieTitle: Work outcome in musculoskeletal diseases: the... more
Antimicrobial Stewardship: the secret weapon against antibiotic resistance?
Date | time: 22 June 2017 | 17.45 – 21.30 hrs.Location: Hotel Van der Valk, Nijverheidsweg 35, MaastrichtWorldwide... more
Inaugural lecture Prof. Jako Burgers
Jako Burgers will accept the position of extraordinary Professor ‘Promoting Personalised Care in Clinical Practice Guidelines’ with the delivery of an inaugural... more

7 June 201714.00 hrs.

PhD ceremony Nienke O. Kuk Supervisors: Prof. G.I.J.M. Kempen, Prof. J.P.H. HamersCo-supervisors: Dr G.J.J.W. Bours, Zuyd Hogeschool Heerlen, Dr G.A.R. ZijlstraTitle: Moving... more
‘Bianca in de Buurt’ travels to Colombia
Nuffic Grant for Klasien Horstman & Marten de VriesAfter 50 years of civil war resulting in 6,5 million of internally displaced persons, Colombia is... more
Pelerin lecture Medical History
Date | time: 9 May 2017 | 17.00 – 18.15 hrs.Location: Flendrigzaal, level 4 azMProf. S.A. Danner (internist, Amsterdam): HIV/Aids in the Netherlands
In the early 1980s... more
Judith de Jong appointed endowed professor
Effective 1 May 2017, Judith de Jong, programme coordinator at NIVEL in Utrecht, has been appointed as endowed professor ‘Health Care System and Governance... more

11 May 201712.00 hrs.

PhD ceremony Bart P.A. SpaetgensSupervisors: Prof. A.E.R.C.H. Boonen, Prof. J.M.J.P. van der LindenCo-supervisor: Dr F.de Vries Title: Assessing the impact of gout; validating... more
Michael Berger Award for André Knottnerus
Professor André Knottnerus has received the Michael Berger Award. The award is a recognition of André’s outstanding international achievements in the field... more
Royal Award for Angelique Heijnen
Angelique Heijnen, office manager of the secretariat of the department ‘Health, Ethics and Society’, received a Royal Award on behalf of the King of the Netherlands... more
The key to a healthy generation is the school lunch
Less than 1% of Dutch children eats 150 gram vegetables per day, as recommended by the WHO. Therefore, it should become custom to eat vegetables... more

5 April 201716.00 hrs.

PhD ceremony Michiel B. WinkesSupervisor: Prof. J.A.W. TeijinkCo-supervisors: Dr M.R.M. Scheltinga, Dr A.R. Hoogeveen, MMC VeldhovenTitle: Chronic Exertional Compartment... more
Prof. Huygenprize for Nicole Verbiest - van Gurp
Yearly the Frans Huygen Foundation and the Dutch College of General Practitioners award the Prof. Huygenprize at the LOVAH congress. The prize of € 2.... more
Movie about the ABC tool for COPD patients
In November 2016 Annerika Slok, postdoc at the Department of Family Medicine, finished her PhD about the development and evaluation of the Assessment of... more
1.5 million for research into the optimal use of new DNA diagnostics in prescribing cancer drugs
In recent years, many new drugs against cancer came on the market. These drugs are very effective in... more
Early Career Research Prize for Eefje de Bont
Eefje de Bont, PhD candidate and GP trainee at the Department of Family Medicine, was awarded the Early Career Research Prize from the Society for... more
ECL ECToH Best Poster Prize for Kim Romijnders
Kim Romijnders has won the ECL ECToH Best Poster Prize for her poster ‘A qualitative assessment of determinants of e-cigarette use in the Netherlands’.... more